9th Annual MTSA Mission & Awards Gala

Presented by

Join us for an evening of celebration, dining and silent auction at the 9th Annual Mission & Awards Gala benefiting MTSA’s Mission Initiative in Peru. Thousands of dollars have been raised at this annual event of which all proceeds fund medical supplies, education curricula, and other needed items for mission activities. Join us by purchasing tickets or a table, or become a sponsor.

Location: Hutton Hotel, 1808 West End Ave, Nashville, TN 37203
Reception/Silent Auction: 6 p.m.
Dinner: 7 p.m.
Entertainment: Nashville Jazz Collective


Event Chair: Deana Vandivier

The event will include an award ceremony based on nominees chosen by MTSA alumni and friends. The award categories include: Mary Elizabeth “Ikey” DeVasher Alumni Distinguished Service Award; Nevin Downs Leadership Award; Clinical Excellence Award; and Mission & Heritage Award. Black tie optional.

Your support at this year’s Mission & Awards Gala will help MTSA address specific needs for women and children of Iquitos, Peru. The School is partnering with the People of Peru Project in planning an international service opportunity that will allow all MTSA staff to participate. The partnership will also help bolster anesthesia care in a future clinic with two operating rooms — including the purchase of an ultrasound machine — to support regional anesthesia and pain management services for those in extreme poverty.


Sponsored by

Anesthesia Medical Group – U.S. Anesthesia Partners
NorthStar Anesthesia
Apex Anesthesia
Cardiovascular Anesthesiologists
Pinnacle Financial Partners
Ted and Alescia Bethea

Sponsorship Opportunities»

Silent Auction Donations»

For more information, contact the Marketing Office at

About the Mission & Awards Gala

Each year, Middle Tennessee School of Anesthesia hosts its Mission & Awards Gala, celebrating the many accomplishments of the anesthesia community while advancing the School’s Mission Initiatives.

Award nominations are now closed for this year. Thank you!

The following awards are given during the ceremony, based on nominations by MTSA alumni and friends:

  • The Mary Elizabeth DeVasher Distinguished Alumni Service Award is awarded to an MTSA alumnus in honor of this MTSA alumnus and former Dean/Vice President/Program Administrator to celebrate and honor her 45 years of dedicated work and distinguished service to the institution.
  • The Mission & Heritage Award is awarded to an individual who embodies and exemplifies the heritage, mission and core values of MTSA.
  • The Clinical Excellence Award is awarded to an anesthesia provider (anesthesiologist or CRNA) or clinical site (hospital, clinic, etc.) that provides a nurturing and exemplary atmosphere with true eagerness to instruct, train and educate MTSA students. The recipient will embrace the MTSA mission and core values.
  • The Nevin Downs, MD Leadership Award is awarded to an anesthesia provider (anesthesiologist or CRNA) who personifies the integrity, honesty, fairness and exemplary leadership with which Dr. Downs served the profession including his advocacy of nurse anesthesia and MTSA.

Read about last year’s Mission & Awards Gala»

Back To Events