8th Annual MTSA Mission & Awards Gala

Presented by Anesthesia Medical Group

Join us for an evening of celebration, dining and silent auction at the 8th Annual Mission & Awards Gala to benefit advancing nurse anesthesia in Guyana. Thousands of dollars have been raised at this annual event of which all proceeds fund medical supplies, education curricula, and other needed items for mission activities in this underdeveloped country. Join us by purchasing tickets, a table or a sponsorship.

Location: Frist Art Museum, 919 Broadway, Nashville, TN
Reception/Silent Auction: 6 p.m.
Dinner: 7 p.m.

Committee Chair: Alison Martin, DNAP, CRNA

The event will include an award ceremony based on nominees chosen by MTSA alumni and friends. The award categories include: Mary Elizabeth “Ikey” DeVasher Alumni Distinguished Service Award; Nevin Downs, MD Leadership Award; Clinical Excellence Award; and Mission & Heritage Award. Black tie optional.

For more information, contact Sara Metcalf at 615-732-7673 or

About the Mission & Awards Gala

Each year, Middle Tennessee School of Anesthesia hosts its Mission & Awards Gala, celebrating the many accomplishments of the anesthesia community while advancing the School’s Mission Initiatives.


The following awards are given during the ceremony, based on nominations by MTSA alumni and friends:

  • The Mary Elizabeth DeVasher Distinguished Alumni Service Award is awarded to a MTSA alumnus in honor of this MTSA alumnus and former Dean/Vice President/Program Administrator to celebrate and honor her 45 years of dedicated work and distinguished service to the institution.
  • The Mission & Heritage Award is awarded to an individual who embodies and exemplifies the heritage, mission and core values of MTSA.
  • The Clinical Excellence Award is awarded to an anesthesia provider (anesthesiologist or CRNA) or clinical site (hospital, clinic, etc.) that provides a nurturing and exemplary atmosphere with true eagerness to instruct, train and educate MTSA students. The recipient will embrace the MTSA mission and core values.
  • The Nevin Downs, MD Leadership Award is awarded to an anesthesia provider (anesthesiologist or CRNA) who personifies the integrity, honesty, fairness and exemplary leadership with which Dr. Downs served the profession including his advocacy of nurse anesthesia and MTSA.

Read about last year’s Mission & Awards Gala»

Back To Events